NFL: Who will win the NFL 2023 MVP Award?

NFL Sports News


  • Quarterbacks have won the NFL Most Valuable Player award the last 10 years.
  • The current favorite at Michigan sportsbooks is Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott. He’s never won the award before.
  • Lions quarterback Jared Goff remains a darkhorse to win the award. The Lions haven’t had an MVP since Barry Sanders shared the award in 1997.

With four weeks left in the NFL’s regular season, the chase is on for the Most Valuable Player award.

Derided in recent years as just a quarterback award – and it’s true, quarterbacks have won the last 10 years – this season there is no clear choice among the league’s best quarterbacks, and wide receiver Tyreek Hill for the Dolphins may have a strong case.

Michigan sports bettors will find markets on all the NFL post-season awards at licensed sportsbooks. FanDuel and DraftKings each have Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott as the current favorite to win MVP followed by Niners signal caller Brock Purdy.

The Favorites 

After his two-touchdown performance Sunday night against the Eagles, Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott is now the front-runner. He leads the NFL in passing yards with 3505 (although Tua Tagovailoa still has to play Monday night and will pass him) and touchdowns with 28.

Dak and the Cowboys have another chance to show off in the final four weeks, playing Buffalo, Miami, Detroit and Washington. Plus, Dak is the quarterback for the NFL’s most popular team. Every single ESPN talking heads blather show will talk about him. That matters, plus the Cowboys are 10-3. That matters too.

Purdy leads the NFL in passer rating and remember the Niners took apart the Cowboys in the regular season. The Niners may be the NFL’s best team, but Purdy might have to overcome the thought that the Niners would be excellent without him.

Who are the Contenders? 

The rest of the top list at FanDuel and DraftKings is dotted with quarterbacks. The Ravens are 10-3 and you know Lamar Jackson is going to finish with around 4,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards. Jackson was NFL MVP back in 2019. His rushing numbers give him an edge over every other QB.

Then there’s Tua. Miami leads the AFC East at 9-3 going into Monday night’s game against the Titans, and remember, Miami also plays the Cowboys in what could be a head-to-head Dak vs. Tua battle for the MVP award. If Dak can get votes for outplaying Tua, then it can work the other way.

Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts was the favorite for this award a few weeks ago, but a two-game losing streak has hurt him.

What About Tyreek and the Lions? 

Expect a lot of chatter about Dolphins wide receiver Tyreek Hill and the MVP award down the stretch. Hill is on the board and currently leads the NFL with 1,481 passing yards. He seems a lock to break the NFL all-time single season passing record of 1,964 set by Lions great Calvin Johnson back in 2012.

But will that be enough? It wasn’t enough for Johnson to even get a sniff at the MVP award in 2012.

Lions quarterback Jared Goff is still in the NFL MVP conversation, but the Lions have now lost two of three after an ugly loss to the Bears Sunday and their luster has faded.

Born and raised in Louisiana, Darren Cooper has a fond appreciation for bayous, Mardi Gras beads and the sports betting industry. Darren has worked for multiple print and online publications since 1998, primarily as a sports columnist in the Northeast. He’s covered a Super Bowl (it was a blowout), the World Series (same) and the NBA Draft (man, those guys are tall). For the last few years he’s dug deep into the sports gambling industry as it exploded across America, learning how the legal sausage is made and how while all the sportsbooks look the same, they all have different identities and styles. He’s learned to always bet within his means -- and take the under. When not in front of his computer creating, Darren spends time with his three boys. He runs, reads and is always looking for the next big thing to write about.